Romeo And Juliet: A Vampire And Werewolf Love Story By HT Night

51tt9537tlL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-57,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_Her eyes sparkled with enthusiasm. “We can escape this city where we are forbidden to couple by what our society dictates. We can start over in California, with no fear, no retaliation, no oversight. Unbound from Verona, we can be free to love one another. Openly.”

My heart was beating so fast that it hammered against my ribs. “Yes! Yes!” I said hoarsely. It was all I could do, not to shout down the house with my joyful agreement.

“I am yours,” she said softly. Juliet looked at me, walked over and knelt down, looking up at me, her face full of hope and longing, the willing submission of her virtue as clear as this starry night. She wrapped her arms around my neck to pull her body close to mine. I leaned back onto her king-size bed and she collapsed on top of my body. Oh, wondrous joy! Her white nightgown began to slip and her body was exposed to me for the first time. I looked down and kissed her lips and her face, but letting my greedy eyes reap the sight of what she offered.

Well, since many authors are re-telling fairy tales, why not the classics, too? I must admit, I’m not a huge Shakespeare fan, simply because of the language. Maybe if I were to pick it up now and try to read it, it would be different, better. Somehow I doubt it though. If the Romeo and Juliet book that I had to read in Grade 9 had been an actual book (and not a play) and was written in a more modern type English, maybe I would have enjoyed Shakespeare more. I must also admit that instead of reading Shakespeare, I bought the Coles notes and read them instead…But, I digress.

This is the love story of Romeo Montague and Juliet Capulet, living in a future time in Verona, which is actually New York City. Romeo and Juliet are both immortals, Romeo being a werewolf and Juliet being a vampire. However, both of them love so completely from the moment that they lay eyes on each other, that neither one can do anything but love the other.

Of course, as with the Shakespeare version, there is the family feuds. Neither immortal clan can live near the other, and they make no bones about how much they hate each other. Even though Romeo wants his family to stop the hating/fighting, his family and friends don’t see it that way. And, the fighting continues.

Romeo risks everything to be with Juliet, sneaking up to her balcony just to get a look at her. It was actually kind of funny when Romeo (who climbs better as a werewolf but can’t talk when he has turned) first climbs up to her balcony. She wonders who’s there, so he has to risk losing his grip on the balcony so that he can talk to her. When he finally makes it to her balcony, she is waiting for him, with open arms and an open, loving heart.

When Romeo and Juliet try to declare their love for one another openly in a public forum, hoping that their families would see their love and that the fighting would cease, Romeo is suddenly regretting his decision. He soon realizes that their families aren’t going to stop fighting, no matter how much they love one another.

As with the Shakespeare version, tragedy hits the love-struck lovers. How this happens is something you’ll have to find out for yourself.

I enjoyed this book. It was fun. It was written in Romeo’s POV, which I liked. Yes, maybe it’s not the classic, and yes, maybe the author made it weird by making it all about werewolves and vampires, but at least it was understandable. No notes version needed for this one.

It could have used a little editing, but all in all, it was a fun read. 5 stars!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Romeo And Juliet: A Vampire And Werewolf Love Story By HT Night

  1. The Desert Rocks

    Excellent review but the original story is sad enough and it sounds like this one will tear out your soul.

  2. Sounds like an interesting read! I admit I am not a huge Shakespeare fan myself. It’s like macBeth.. it’s okay, but then they redid it as a movie about a fast food restaurant – Scotland, PA – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland,_PA – and I love it, LOL!

  3. dm yates

    I love Shakespeare (I always have to be different). This sounds like an interesting read. Another great review.

  4. I do love Shakespeare, but it doesn’t extend to Romeo and Juliet, oddly enough.

    Henry V, Hamlet, or Twelfth Night work best for me.

    Good review, Beth!

Leave a Reply

