Blood Fugue: Moonsongs Book One By E. J. Wesley

51MvXeWi0FL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-54,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_Some folks treated the past like an old friend. The memories warmed them with fondness for what was, and hope for what was to come. Not me. When I thought of long ago, my insides curdled, and I was left feeling sour and wasted. For me, dwelling on the past was akin to keeping a picture of an ex-boyfriend who had cheated on me with the town whore, stolen my favorite t-shirt, and given me Chlamydia. There’d be no value in holding onto that kind of torment. Personally, if I bumped into yesterday at the grocery store, I’d punch it in its shitty face and take my shirt back.

Jenny Schmidt is a self-confessed computer nerd and pretty much a loner, except for her eccentric friend, Marshal, for whom is her best friend and landlord. Jenny has lost everyone in her family over the years, and now she’s gone from being an angry teenager to an angry adult. She has totally dissed her native heritage…I mean, what’s the point since everyone who ever cared for her in the slightest…her mom, her father, her grandparents…are all gone.

But, then she gets a strange email from her grandpa…ok, what? Hold on a sec…wasn’t her grandpa dead? Yup, he was, so to speak, but now he needs Jenny’s help.

Jenny and Marshal drive out to the old man’s farm and what they see there makes Jenny wonder if this trip was worth it.

Inside his barn lies his dead horse, gutted and bloody. Her grandpa tells her that it was a monster that did it, a huge ravaging monster that has been eating the livestock, and is now maybe waiting to eat him next.

What kind of help does her grandpa need from her? I mean, she’s only a girl. Right? What can she do to help?

This novella was excellently written. The imagery that the author presents in the story brings the scene right to you, as if you were right there watching it all unfold in front of you.

I found with this story that I couldn’t have any distractions while reading it because it was so detailed. It took you through her growing up memories right straight to the present, and back again. The author brought life to all the characters in a very short space of time. It was nice to see the growth of Jenny throughout the story.

An excellent start to a series. 5 stars!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Blood Fugue: Moonsongs Book One By E. J. Wesley

  1. Sounds like a wonderful read. It’s next on my list after I finish your book. Your review makes me want to read it right now.

  2. I agree, definitely finish Beth’s book first! 😀

    Seriously, thanks so much for the kind words Beth. Truly appreciated, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  3. Yup. I read the story too. It was a fantabulous, fast read.

    Hugs and chocolate,
    Shelly

  4. This was so exciting and though not my usual choice for reading, I loved it and really enjoyed writing a review about it too.

Leave a Reply

