Mr. Right And Other Mongrels By Monique McDonell

41erTwzY5TL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_“Uhmmmmm Hello… You’re in my ute.” Very articulate.

“Yes, this dog chased me in here and I have a bit of a dog phobia and…” Then I burst into tears. Now I must tell you at this time I didn’t know who he was…I don’t own a TV…so I didn’t know that I should have been feeling even more embarrassed and pathetic than I was.

Just then the dog woke up and leapt at Mr. Green.

Is this the dog you are scared of?” he looked quite incredulous. He ruffled its fur and tickled it behind the ears.

“I’m scared of all dogs…right now, yes THIS is the dog.” I was also searching in my bag for a tissue.

Allegra Johnson is a down-to-earth but wealthy woman who owns many real estate properties and runs a used book store. She also has an extreme phobia about dogs.

Teddy Green is a local celebrity with his own gardening show, soon to be international. He is a down-to-earth nice guy who only wants everyone to be happy.

When the dog bounds towards her, she climbs into the back of his truck to get away from it, not knowing whose truck she was climbing into. When her wallet falls out into his truck, he returns it to her the next day. She didn’t even realize it was missing.

And, soon a relationship begins.

Teddy has an ex-girlfriend (Louisa) that just won’t go away. She actually owns the shaggy sheepdog that bowled Ally over. Louisa does everything she can think of to win Teddy back. However, Teddy wants nothing to do with her and everything to do with Ally.

As the relationship blossoms, Teddy asks Ally to come to the US with him since his show has now gone global. Ally has reservations about leaving with him. And, really, who wouldn’t?

Will Ally decide to push Teddy to the curb, leaving him to go to the US by himself? Or will Teddy decide not to bother going, that he’d rather stay with Ally instead?

This book was totally predictable in a sweet way. I enjoyed the love blooming between Ally and Teddy, but I’m trying to figure out if this book would have been better if there were some sexual tension between them. There was implied sex, some hard kisses, some petting…but that was about it. I would have liked to have seen the author add in a little more in that department.

The love story is sweet (almost sickeningly) and it would have been nice if Louisa could have maybe been a little more bad. She did some nasty things, but nothing BAD.

All in all, not a bad story, but not a great one either. I think the book could have benefited from a good editor as there were missing words and some spelling mistakes, as well. I found the grammar was also very poor in this book with a lot of missing/lacking commas, punctuation marks in the wrong spots and some missing totally.

Also, the title of the book eludes me. Yes, she states her dislike of ALL dogs, and she does meet Mr. Right while trying to get away from a dog, but since the guy doesn’t actually own/have a dog, and she only meets up with the sheepdog and one other dog in the whole book, I found that the title doesn’t really match up with the book. Of course, there is one part in the book where she compares men to dogs, stating that most men are dogs….but I think the author should have come up with a better title.

While I read to the end, I was waiting for SOMETHING to happen, but it just never really did. It just wasn’t what I was thinking it would be.

I give this story 3 stars.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Mr. Right And Other Mongrels By Monique McDonell

  1. Nice review! Great observations!

  2. Good review. Looks like this one could stand to have more time percolating under a good editor.

  3. Love your honest review. I do like the cover.

Leave a Reply

