Memoirs Of The Walking Dead: A Story From The Zombies Point Of View By Jason McKinney

When the dead walk the Earth, how will they survive? That’s a question that I have a hard time answering. When Mr. Rierson, Paul to his friends and family, “asked” me to write about his experiences I couldn’t really refuse. He and I have known each other for longer than I care to remember and in that I time I’ve come to know a sensitive, caring ghoul. These written experiences will not only help the public at large to learn about their undead neighbours’ unlives, but also what it was like for them at the onset of their “sickness”.

Mr. Rierson wanted to convey that the hardships of a “living impaired” person are just as trying as that of a “living capable person”. He hopes will help readers understand that they truly mean you, the living, no harm.

Gee, for the first time since I started doing these reviews, I’m not sure how I’m going to rate this novel. The premise was great, but the flaws in the novel are too many to state all of them here. There isn’t enough time or space. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the story. I just have so much angst about what score to give it.

Paul Rierson is just another normal guy–he goes to work, has problems with the opposite sex and loves his cat, Charlotte. When he contracts the Pelican Flu, he, and pretty much everyone else, become zombies.

Paul does what he can to survive. He even meets a woman named Tracey and begins a relationship with her. They help each other, fight, and they even give the reader a smidgen of sexual tension. Even they have a relationship fraught with turmoil and regrets.

When the US Army becomes the USZA (United States Zombified Army), Paul decides to join. After all, he was a former Navy officer. Paul is helpful to others who deserve it, ruthless to those who don’t. He rescues a very scared little puppy that was about to be eaten by its owners. Paul saves his elderly neighbour, Mrs. MacGruder, by telling her that the government is going to gas the city and that she should think about leaving town since she is still human. In turn, Paul is helped by several people, including Tracey. As with most people in life, if you were nice as a human, you remained so as a zombie. And vice versa.

Can Paul and the other zombies survive in a world that wants them all destroyed? You’ll have to read this one to find out.

As I said before, I did enjoy this book…

But…

As a story by itself, I would give this novel at least a 4 or 5. I did laugh in a few places since the author did describe things that were happening quite well.

But…

There were so many problems with it. Oh, where do I start?

The editing of this novel is basically non-existent. If it was edited, then said editor should be fired and the author should get his money back. Grammatical errors, spelling errors and missing and misplaced words all make for a very distracting time reading this novel. For example, even in the blurb I gave at the top has a mistake in it. Here are some more examples.

1. “Tony? He’s name’s Mike and he’s been,” I paused.

2. I looked down the hall and saw Ms. MacGruder, watching through a crack her in chained door.

I’d like to mention here that I found Ms. MacGruder, Mrs. MacGruder (The right name?), Mrs. Macgruder and Miss MacGruder throughout the book…no lie. So, which one is it?

3. Numerous spelling mistakes like this: She jumped on me, kneeing me in the groan before falling off the bed. Then there are the common spelling mistakes that so many people make like loose/lose and breath/breathe…oh, and lets not forget duck tape–I thought it was duct tape.

4. The human telling the zombie’s story makes appearances throughout the novel when he thinks that Paul isn’t looking/watching, to tell everyone that he wished he was somewhere else. At times though, I would get confused as to whether the zombie was telling the human this story so that the human could type it out or whether the human was with them as they traveled from place to place. That never seemed to be very clear.

I think the memoir would have been better if the human had not put in his 2 cents worth. It was just way too confusing.

So, what do I rate this book?

I’ve seen novels that only had a few editing errors in the whole book and got low ratings for such, and yet this novel has errors literally on every single page but still has 5 star reviews. As a reviewer, I can read past a few errors as if they weren’t even there. But this book just had too many to even count.

If you think you can get past all the grammatical and spelling errors and the missing and misplaced words, then you might like this book

Do I think this book is a 5? No, the editing is non-existent. Do I think it deserves a 1? No, it was a pretty good story. But even giving it a 3 rating doesn’t seem fair and yet, seems to be too much.

So, what rating will I give it?

I think I will leave this one unrated. For the first time ever, I can’t decide.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Memoirs Of The Walking Dead: A Story From The Zombies Point Of View By Jason McKinney

  1. Good review, Beth…

    I think the lack of editing would drive me nuts… and I’m not particularly into the zombie genre to begin with….

  2. The Desert Rocks

    Poor puppy. Have a great vacation.

Leave a Reply

