Interview With A Jewish Vampire By Erica Manfred

“Well, I hope you can deal with Florida weather–for me. I’ll book us a night flight. Now what do we do with your coffin? Do you want to travel in it?”

“Not really. What if it gets lost? What if the airline loses it? We’ll leave late and I’ll ship it separately.”

“Maybe you don’t really need it.”

“I don’t want to take that chance.”

“Let’s experiment before you go. See what you can tolerate. Maybe you just need the dirt from a graveyard nearby and you could sleep in a bed with blackout curtains?”

Sheldon looked terrified. “Sleep without my coffin? It’s my security blanket, I’d have insomnia anywhere else. Goldie reads me to sleep when I’m in it.”

“What a mama’s boy you are!” I laughed.

This book wasn’t what I was thinking it would be when I got it. Yes, it was vaguely humorous and I did laugh in many scenes, but I guess I was thinking it would be more of an “Interview” since that was in the title, and less of another love story. I was thinking that I would get some interesting tibits of information about how a vampire…let alone a Jewish vampire…survives in this world, especially when the blood might not be kosher.

Rhoda works (?) as a journalist…I put the question mark there because it seems Rhoda really doesn’t work all that hard. I’m not exactly sure how she pays her rent because she never went to her actual place of work. But, I digress.

Rhoda is 41, single, a little overweight, and about to meet a vampire through a Jewish dating site. Sheldon is over a hundred years old, and without his facial hair (you know, the really long beards some Jewish people sport) he looks like Jeff Goldblum.

The book starts out with an interview of sorts, but then a relationship builds between Sheldon and Rhoda. But, as with some vampires, they can be aloof. Days and weeks go by and there is no sign of Sheldon…I guess this is where the interview ends…

But, she inevitably finds him and then she is given some awful news from her mother’s doctor…her mother is dying and she refuses to have an operation or treatment that would save her. Rhoda can’t bear to live without her mother, so she asks Sheldon to change her mother into a vampire. Apparently this happens a lot in Florida. There’s a whole orgainization called the Golden Grandma’s, a bunch of vampire old people living there.

So, Sheldon and Rhoda convince her mother to become a vampire…

Yeah, and that’s when the trouble starts.

This book had its moments of funny but it could have been better. There were a lot of editing errors that detracted from the book and I really needed a Jewish to English dictionary since there were lots of Jewish words in it like zaftig, for example…this means fat…I was able to figure this one out, but there were lots that I couldn’t and could have used a Jewish friend to help me out…

Also, the story kind of dragged a little. I wanted to know more about this Jewish vampire and how he lived, but it seemed that the interview was over on the first evening. After that, well, it wasn’t much of a story. The part about Rhoda’s mother becoming a vampire, and the fact that Rhoda asked her “boyfriend” to turn her mother, kind of repulsed me, to be honest. I love my mother, but I couldn’t see her, as an 81 year old woman, becoming a vampire.

With a little polishing, maybe a bit of a Jewish to English vocabulary and a bit more actual interview instead of having sex all the time and changing her mother, maybe I would have liked it better. It wasn’t my cup of tea. Or blood, as the case may be.

I’m giving this book 3 stars.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Interview With A Jewish Vampire By Erica Manfred

  1. Beth, nice review! You seemed to have covered all bases. And the concept and title sound very interesting, and the concept has potential. If it is missing some of the elements you suggest, then that would be disappointing. The author could have added a small dictionary in the back of the book to translate the Jewish words. That would have been helpful to readers. Thanks for sharing this unique book with us.

    • I got it because it was in the humorous section and I need funny…however, I found the vampire character whiney and unexceptional…he was strong and weak at the same time…male characters shouldn’t be like that, I wouldn’t think…LOL It was an ok book, but not at all what I expected…

      • Yeah, I don’t like whiney men. Really, a book with such a title and such a unique potential should have been approached better! I don’t have a specific genre; I read a variety of genres, but what I expect is good quality and fresh, interesting writing. Take care, Beth!

  2. Excellent review, Beth.

    It doesn’t sound quite my cup of tea, but it seems to be a different take on the entire genre…

  3. The Desert Rocks

    Good review considering it wasn’t your cup of tea or blood or Matzo Ball soup!

  4. Matzo Ball Soup is delicious (I had it at a Maundy Thursday dinner at church). Thanks for the review. I don’t think I’m ready for a Jewish Vampire. Good review.

    • I’ll have to try it one day. I don’t think I have any Jewish friends though…LOL I got the book thinking it sounded good…and it was supposed to be funny…but, I guess I’m not ready for a Jewish vampire either…LOL

  5. I might read this. It sounds funny despite the bad points. A Jewish vampire and kosher blood. I can’t resist.

    • Well, I’m sure you would like it…but, not the vampire character…he’s too wimpy for my liking…however, yes…there were lots of funny parts in it that you might enjoy. Poor thing has to survive on rats…I don’t think rats are kosher…LOL

Leave a Reply

