Cake Icing, Butt Budder & Tea Lids By Renee Andrews

Taking a deep breath, I worked on convincing myself that this wouldn’t be so bad. I was a Thibodeaux, wasn’t I? I could handle having my wedding cake on display for the general public for the next fourteen years. No problem. Or, as Aunt Edna says, no biggee. They’d root me on as I tried to find my groom. It’d be fun.

Right?

“Okay,” I repeated. I leaned back from Mama, grinned. “Piece of cake,” I said then laughed at the pun. “Guess we should go help build my groom.”

This is a story about love, family and life–and about following your heart. This is a laugh out loud story that will make you fall in love with all the characters. They’re all crazy, but it’s a good crazy. Even the title is crazy. By the first few pages, you’ll wish that you were a Thibodeaux too.

The book starts out with Delilah Thibodeaux having just given birth to Jezebel. Delilah and Edna are both single who help to raise this blessed child. The father is unaware of the birth of the baby or even that the baby is even his. Delilah had a good reason for keeping the baby a secret from the daddy.

As the child grows up, working alongside her wonderfully attentive Mama and Aunt, we learn more about the title of the book. Delilah and Edna own a Cakery, where they make fine cakes and pastries. At the Cakery, Jezze starts learning about cakes…and life.

You see, life is like a cake. Each layer a different aspect of your life. Sometimes life is like sweet buttercream and can be enjoyed. Other times, life throws in coconut, the hard times in your life. Jezze learns that it should be expected. Still, if it were up to her, she’d like her life cake to be filled completely with buttercream.

Each Christmas in Lousianna, the town would have a bonfire contest to see who could make the biggest, best structure to burn. The sisters get it in their heads that they’d like to build a bonfire this year, their first year. Delilah comes up with the “blue prints” for a structure…Jezze’s Man. The structure sports a bride at the top of the wooden cake, with Jezze’s Man standing fourteen feet away from the cake…each year they make the cake, Jezze’s Man would move another foot closer to the top. Jezze is ten when they start this…that leaves her fourteen years to find her “right” man.

I told you about the part of the title called “Cake Icing”, but what has “Butt Budder” got to do with it? And, what the heck is butt budder anyway? And “Tea Lids?” Well, you’ll just have to read the story to find out.

I laughed out loud repeatedly throughout the book. If you have any sense of humour at all, you won’t be able to stop yourself. In one section, I felt my heart wrench as tears rolled down my cheeks during a hard time. I felt my insides go all gooey when Jezze described how she felt when she meets her “right” man. Jezze’s Man. I wanted to be Jezze.

This is a crazy story that will leave you wondering why it had to end. You’ll be wanting more from these characters. Too bad there isn’t a second book.

This book is only .99 cents, but should be priced higher…don’t miss it. A great humour book that will maybe teach you a thing or two about life, love, family and having it all. It’s never to late to love or to find your “right” man.

I give this book 5 stars!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Cake Icing, Butt Budder & Tea Lids By Renee Andrews

  1. The Desert Rocks

    Sounds funny thanks for recommending it!

  2. Quite a review!

    Admittedly, I’ve always liked the name Delilah.

  3. Oh, I’ve got to buy this! It sounds like the kind of book I really enjoy!

  4. Good review. Sounds like a light-hearted read. See I can make up words too.

  5. conspiracyqueen

    Excellent review. You should be paid. Even when you give a bad one…the book being bad that is.

    Hugs,
    Shelly

Leave a Reply

