An Interview By Brian Feinblum, And Good News About My Free Book!!

First off, I just have to say….WOW!! My fantasy romance novel, “The Bracelet” hit #1 in it’s category and as low as #40 in overall free Kindle books…That’s incredible! I couldn’t believe how well it did, and how well it still is doing.

Recently I was contacted through LinkedIn by Brian Feinblum. He is the Chief Marketing Officer and Senior Vice President of Planned Television Arts. His website is www.plannedtvarts.com You’ll have to check it out.

He has a blog called, Book Marketing Buzz Blog. (www.bookmarketingbuzzblog.blogspot.com) His blog introduction line is that his blog is a unique blog dedicated to covering the worlds of book publishing and the news media, revealing creative ideas, practical strategies, interesting stories, and provocative opinions. Along the way, discover savvy but entertaining insights on book marketing, public relations, branding, and advertising from a veteran of two decades in the industry of book publishing publicity and marketing

He asked if he could do an interview with me. I told him he could and I asked him if it would be ok if I linked his blog with my blog, showcasing the interview. So, here it is.

Interview With Romantic Comedy Author Beth Muscat 
1.      What is your latest book about? Everyone has bad days once in awhile. My characters have the worst day, a bad day. It’s a romantic comedy aptly called, “Bad Day”, and it takes place over one day. It features four main characters, and showcases the fears, triumphs, bad and good memories and everything in between that can happen over one day.
2.      What inspired you to write it? I’m a multi-genre writer, and I like humor. I thought I would try something new with a romantic comedy. As to what inspired me to write it, as I said, everyone has bad days.
3.      What do you feel your readers want or expect when they read your books? I think what any reader of a book wants: A story that is interesting and flows well, with interesting characters, edited for spelling/grammar mistakes and easy to read and understand. I write in multiple first person POV, so my readers need my writing to be easily understood as to who is thinking/feeling/speaking at that time.
4.      What do you love most about being a published author? I think what I love best about being a published author is that I was able to share with the world my thoughts and feelings through some awesome characters. I met some terrific people online who showed me a way to get my works out there for others to read through self-publishing. If I can entertain or take a person to another world and introduce them to some wonderful characters, then I think I’ve done my job. And, I like to see my name on the book. That might be kind of vain, but it’s also kind of neat.
5.      Do you have any advice to a struggling writer? Read, read, read. Find a genre that you enjoy and lose yourself in it. I read a novel by L. J. Smith called “Dark Visions”, and it inspired me to write a paranormal romance. Draw inspiration from watching people and even from your own experiences. Take writing courses and read some “how-to” books–although, they can be contradictory, so limit how many you read to just one or two. Most of all, write how you want to write. Write about what makes you feel good. When I first started out, I was afraid to show my works to family and friends for fear that they would laugh at what I’d written. But, let them read it and critique it for you. What might sound right to you, might be interpreted differently by someone else. They might be able to suggest a different way of writing it to make it flow better. Just write. Write about anything–I recently entered a short story contest using some writing prompts I found online. But, most importantly, just write.
6.      Where do you see the book publishing industry heading? I think the book publishing industry is headed almost completely in the self-publishing direction. So many people have such excellent writing out there, and yet, can’t find an agent or publisher to take them on. This is a tough industry to get into that way. However, with self-publishing, it has taken me to places I never thought I would go to (online), and I’ve met some incredible people along the way (online). They’ve shown me a world where I can get my works to a great amount of people, instead of my novels being stuck on my computer for no one to see. Self-publishing means I have creative control over my works, and I can earn more. But, self-publishing doesn’t mean you can skimp on editing, the use of beta-readers and great writing. Those things are probably even more important in self-publishing than in traditional publishing.
*Brian Feinblum’s views, opinions, and ideas expressed in this blog are his alone and not that of his employer. You can follow him on Twitter @theprexpert and email him at brianfeinblum@gmail.com. He feels more important when discussed in the third-person.
10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “An Interview By Brian Feinblum, And Good News About My Free Book!!

  1. Great interview, Beth! I was about to email you about doing an interview on your phenomenal Amazon promotion.

    The only thing I’d disagree with you on would be the need to take writing courses.

  2. Lena

    Great interview Beth! Great answers, too! Good luck on the new book! It sounds interesting. Can’t wait to read it!

  3. Update again….Currently at #28 overall downloads…and it remains at #1 in my genre…WOW!!!

  4. The Desert Rocks

    A wonderful interview Beth. You sound like you’ve been at it all your life–like a true professional. Congratulations on all your success. I’m sure there’s no limit to how high you can go! Dream big girlfriend.

  5. This all must be very exciting for you! I’m glad to see how well your book is doing and I look forward to future updates. Congratulations to you!

  6. Terrific interview, Beth, and you do have great comedic timing. Bad Day is going to do wonders for you.

Leave a Reply

